National FFA Organization Names 49 individuals as 2014 New Century Farmers

September 25, 2014

The National FFA Organization has selected 49 outstanding young people to participate in the 2014 New Century Farmer program. This exclusive, highly competitive program develops young men and women committed to pursuing a career in production agriculture. Participants representing 26 states will take part in an intensive seminar July 13–19 in Johnstown, Iowa. They will learn from each other and industry experts during a series of workshops and sessions.

Topics will include the global marketplace, farm financing, demographic trends and risk management. New Century Farmers will hear from motivating and informative keynote speakers who will educate them on the risks and rewards involved with production agriculture. In addition to classroom learning, students will experience the latest developments in agricultural technology.

The New Century Farmer program is sponsored by DuPont Pioneer; Case IH; CSX Corporation; and Farm Credit with media partner Successful Farming as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. The program is designed to provide participants with valuable skills and knowledge applicable to their own farming operations. In addition, they will build a network of colleagues that will benefit them throughout their careers.

The 2014 New Century Farmers are:

ARKANSAS: Benjamin Thompson of Everton

ARIZONA: Moriah Jacobs of Litchfield Park

CALIFORNIA: Aric Barcellos of Los Banos, Jaclyn Cubillas of Hacienda Heights and Nicholas Martin of Patterson

COLORADO: Mary Lenz of Holyoke

GEORGIA: Cole Roper and Christopher Whitworth, of Royston

IOWA: Donald Conway of Melrose, Andrew Luzum of Decorah, Janae Mogler of Alvord and Robert Trumm of Cascade

IDAHO: Samuel Hoffman of Moscow and Justin Lake and Anna Pratt of Blackfoot

ILLINOIS: Wesley DeClercq of Hillsdale

INDIANA: Amy Burbrink of North Vernon, Cole Goodman of Waynetown and Paul Clayton Michael–Butler of Mulberry

KANSAS: Garet Koester of Concordia and Andrea Mattas of Wilson

KENTUCKY: Brian Chism of Brandenburg and Benjamin Ryan of Elizabethtown

MINNESOTA: Andrew Krause of Buffalo, Jared Krieger of Kerkhoven, Tim Rasmussen of Rothsay and David VanKlompenburg of Montevideo

MISSOURI: Brenda Arnold of Drexel, Aaron Edwards of Salisbury and Amanda Holder of Point Lookout

MONTANA: Karoline Rose of Three Forks

NORTH CAROLINA: Hunter Stevenson of Elizabeth City

NORTH DAKOTA: Mitchel Lacher of Christine and Justin Zahradka of Lawton

NEW JERSEY:Levi Gibbs of Andover

NEW YORK: Adam Eick of Medina

OHIO: Aaron Clark of Millersburg, Kelli Hartman of Wilmington, Niles McGuire of Germantown, Austin Mikesell of New Madison and Charles Miller of Washington Court House

OREGON: Hana Cooper of Monument

RHODE ISLAND: Lauren Woloohojian of West Greenwich

SOUTH DAKOTA: Andrew Rausch of Hoven

TENNESSEE: Derek Giffin of Union City and Michaela Slagle of Johnson City

UTAH: Casey Major of Avon

VIRGINIA: Johnathan Foltz of Edinburg

WISCONSIN: Emma Waterworth of Fall River

The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 579,678 student members in grades seven through 12 who belong to one of 7,570 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Credit: FFA Organization

Last Modified: 09/25/2014 1:51:29 pm MDT


Website Powered By PageFramer, Development By Robert Sharp & Associates