2017 Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow Scholarship Winners will be Recognized During 2017 Farmers Union Day at the S.D. State Fair

August 7, 2017

The South Dakota Farmers Union Foundation, in cooperation with Farmers Union Insurance Agency, have announced the recipients of the annual Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow scholarships. Scholarship recipients will be recognized during the 2017 South Dakota Farmers Union Day at the State Fair, Sept. 2 on the Freedom Stage across from the Farmers Union Tent.

 Twenty-five high school seniors from across South Dakota will share $25,000 in scholarships to be used to further their education at a South Dakota post-secondary school. 

 Over the past 10 years, the foundation has awarded more than $250,000 in scholarships to students attending South Dakota post-secondary schools.

Each of the 25 scholarship recipients will receive $1,000 to put toward their post-secondary education at a South Dakota college, university or technical school. The recipients were chosen from among a large pool of applicants. They were scored based on a combination of academic record, activities and awards, financial need and an essay relating to how they will "Insure a Brighter Tomorrow" in South Dakota.

 Farmers Union Insurance agents throughout the state fund this scholarship program administered by the Farmers Union Foundation. "Our insurance agents are committed to building a brighter future in South Dakota," says Jason Wells, Regional Manager of Farmers Union Insurance Agency. "This is a remarkable group and they make me excited about the future of our great state. We're choosing to invest in these outstanding individuals to help them pursue their goals and aspirations." 

The winners are as follows: Laken Olson, Britton-Hecla High School; Wyatt Ewing, Winner High School; Garrison Gross, Mitchell High School; Hannah Juracek, Gregory High School; Brooklyn Halverson, Lyman High School; Seth Overbay, Huron High School; Ellen Schlechter, Faulkton High School; Kaihlen Smith, Mitchell High School;  Sopie McKee, Yankton High School; Shannon Fanning, Scotland High School; Jacey Anderberg, Yankton High School; MaKenzie Dean, Parker High School; Evan Steers, Miller High School; Timothy Paris, Rapid City Central High School; Mallory Trapp, Milbank High School; Kindra Clark, Garretson High School; Kate Katterhagen, Yankton High School; Kristan Soukup, Wagner Community School; Tori Gaer, Newell High School; Jadyn Woodward, Dupree High School; April Hoffman, Leola High School;  Janae Gustafson, Ethan High School; Kaylee Braun, Ipswich High School; Drew DeMers, Winner High School and Grace Geohring, Selby Area High School.

Last Modified: 08/07/2017 8:24:16 am MDT


Website Powered By PageFramer, Development By Robert Sharp & Associates