Disaster Declaration Will Help Farmers & Ranchers Recover

 – By

South Dakota Farmers Union President (SDFU) Doug Sombke today praised President Barack Obama for signing a disaster declaration that makes 30 counties across the state eligible for disaster assistance. The announcement was made yesterday.

“I appreciate the Obama Administration’s willingness to take a look at South Dakota’s situation and get us some help,” Sombke said. “Our state’s agriculture industry was hit hard by winter weather and then spring flooding. Our infrastructure was devastated. Roads and bridges in many places are impassable and in some cases destroyed. This disaster will be felt for months and years to come. Many farmers and ranchers aren’t able to get their commodities to market because of the road situation alone. Work needs to be done quickly so our agricultural producers can recover from this disaster.”

Thirty counties across South Dakota will be eligible for federal aid because of this declaration. Counties eligible for assistance include: Aurora, Beadle, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, and Union Counties.

Gov. Mike Rounds (R-S.D.) asked for the disaster declaration after major flooding this spring. Sen. Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.) and Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (D-S.D.) also wrote the president supporting Gov. Rounds’ request.

“I’m thankful that Governor Rounds recognized the need, and that our congressional delegation supported him in the effort to get federal disaster relief,” Sombke said. “It’s a step toward recovery, and there is a lot of work that needs to be done.”

For more information on the disaster declaration CLICK HERE and how to apply for disaster funds CLICK HERE.

Last Modified: