President Signs Disaster Declaration for South Dakota Counties

 – By

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of South Dakota to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm on April 2, 2010, and severe flooding this spring.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm in the counties of Corson, Perkins and Ziebach, and by the flooding in Aurora, Beadle, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clark, Clay, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, and Union.

Federal funding also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. Nancy M. Casper has been named the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Casper said that additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

For more information on the disaster declaration CLICK HERE and how to apply for disaster funds CLICK HERE.

Last Modified: