First Year Senior Achievement:
Awards half payment to attend state camp for the following year.
Second Year Senior Achievement:
Awards a three-day educational legislative trip to Pierre to watch and learn about the legislative process as well as the history of South Dakota's capital city.
Third Year Senior Achievement:
This award combines both fun and education on a bus trip to Minneapolis, MN. Participants tour regional cooperative facilities and learn about a number of non-agriculture cooperatives, such as REI (Recreation Equipment Cooperative) and food store cooperatives. While intheTwincities, they visit a variety of other Minneapolis/St. Paul points of interest.
Fourth Year Senior Achievement:
This award gives a senior youth the opportunity to attend the National Farmers Union All-States Leadership Camp in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado. All-States Leadership Camp gathers the dedicated "cream of the crop" in the Farmers Union youth program from all across the nation, for leadership, growth, and development. Hands-on training and encouragement are taught here, to the future leaders of our organizations, schools, churches, and communities.
Fifth Year Senior Achievement:
The highest honor bestowed upon young people within the Farmers Union is that of "Torchbearer". These individuals are honored at the state convention and are eligible to represent South Dakota at the National Farmers Union Convention the following year.

At the 2018 Convention Banquet, the Torchbearers honored during the Torchbearer Ceremony 

Back row left to right: Caleb Nugteren, McCook County; Nick Snedeker, Sanborn County; Justin Goetz, Walworth County; Megan Hanson, Marshall County; and Abby Dethlefsen, Aurora County. Front row left to right: Rachel Haigh-Blume, South Dakota Farmers Union Education Director, Cassidy Keller, McCook County; and Kate Oberembt, Davidson County.


Junior Advisory Council

In the spirit of developing leaders for the future, a six-member Junior Advisory Council is selected by the youth and education Council to serve as leaders, role models and representatives in planning and conducting State Camp. In addition to coordinating, implementing and directing State Camp these individuals participate in a number of leadership development opportunities throughout the year. They are involved in activities such as serving as a page at the state convention, helping with Farmers Union events across South Dakota, and assisting the State Education Director with the promotion of education programs.

The 2018-2019 Junior Advisory Council were elected during Farmers Union State Leadership Camp. From left to right: Caleb Nugteren, Canistota; Abby Dethlefsen, Stickney; Charlee Byrd, White Lake; Cassidy Keller, Canistota; Landon Copley, Aberdeen and Justin Goetz, Selby.


Senior Advisory Council

Each year there is an opportunity for leadership advancement for two young people who are selected from eligible Torchbearers to serve as youth representatives to the Education Council. These individuals provide input to the Education Department on behalf of Farmers Union youth. Senior Advisory Council members attend Education Council meetings, County Councilors, serve as advisors for the Junior Advisory Council, assist at State Camp, State Convention and with the promotion of education programs.

2019 Senior Advisory Council Member 

Kate Oberembt

2019 Senior Advisory Council Member 

Dalton Gerlach